Buzz

by June

image

Sometimes, I drink too much coffee in the morning, and the caffeine works too well, rushing through my veins like a low, steady hum of electricity. When this happens, I often feel like my whole day is climbing steadily before me like a wave, ready to crash over my head at any moment, and I feel absolutely overwhelmed. I think of everything I have to/need to/should do all at once, and can feel my heart beating in my chest and my lungs feel two sizes too small, and I just want to plant myself on my porch and grow roots there and not do anything at all, because it all just seems like too much.

Of course, though, that’s melodramatic. It’s just the coffee, creating a steady buzz inside my head. But when you’re in that place, it’s hard to talk yourself out of it.

