The obligatory ‘I’m Back’ Post

by June

Beginner-blogs often go through a cycle: They start strong, with enthusiastic posts getting published pretty consistently. Then they start to slump a little. Eventually, the author disappears altogether. And then weeks/months later, the author appears again, with a post that says something like “Wow, I didn’t realize how long I’d been away for!” or, “So much has happened since I last posted, I hadn’t had time to write until now,” or whatever else. You know. You’ve read those posts.

So, here I am now, saying I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted, even though I do know how long it’s been, and I thought of revisiting and updating my blog often, but a million excuses got in the way (which included, in case you’re interested, these classics: I never know what to say and nobody cares anyways, and what’s the point of writing a blog if you don’t have a theme, and I should create a cooler blog that people will want to read and I should create an actually cohesive blog and God, since when am I such a whiner?). So, there you go.

But if I can’t think of a cool, cohesive blog theme that will make other people want to read my blog, then I’m going to make this blog work for me. I’ve been a grad school dropout for two months now, and very little of what I hoped to accomplish by this time has been accomplished. I’m nowhere further than I was a month ago. So I’m going to use this blog to keep track of myself, to make public my daily progress or non-progress. At least, that’s the plan for now.

Actually, no. The plan is ultimately just to sit my ass down and write. But God, it’s so fucking hard (am I allowed to use strong language on WordPress? I’ll probably edit this later). One blog post a day on here, and at least one page written of my young adult novel that has no well-formed plot or direction and has gone nowhere in the last two months, and at least one cover letter submitted for an internship or publication, A DAY, for at least one week, starting now. Baby steps. I can’t look back at what I haven’t accomplished, I just need to focus on what I can do now.

I just had my birthday on Tuesday and I am determined to make this the year I get shit done.

 

Daily Goals:

1. One post

2. One page

3. One cover letter

 

 

PS – I won’t mention how most beginner-blogs once again drop off into nowhere-land shortly after their “I’m Back” post. That won’t be happening here. Hopefully.

